Impacts of Banned Drinker Register re-introduction in the Northern Territory

December 2019

Prof Tanya Chikritzhs

Other investigators: 

Prof Peter Miller, Deakin University (Lead Investigator)
Prof James Smith, Charles Darwin University
Dr Michael Livingston, La Trobe University
Prof Steven Guthridge, Charles Darwin University
Dr Carolyn Whyte, Northern Territory Government
A/Prof John Boffa, Central Australian Aboriginal Congress Aboriginal Corporation              
Prof Yin Paradies, Deakin University
Dr Kalinda Griffiths, University of New South Wales
Prof Robin Room, La Trobe University
Dr Richelle Mayshak, Deakin University
Ms Le Smith, Northern Territory Primary Health Network
Dr Matthew Stevens, Charles Darwin University
Mr John Paterson, Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance NT Aboriginal Corporation
A/Prof James Ward, South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute
Ms Meredythe Crane, Foundation for Alcohol Research and Education Ltd
Mr Michael Thorn, Foundation for Alcohol Research and Education Ltd
Dr Deborah Scott, Monash University

Project description: 

This project aims to investigate the impacts of the re-introduction of the Banned Drinker Register in the Northern Territory, where rates of alcohol-related harm are more than twenty times that seen in other Australian states.

An interdisciplinary team will use qualitative and quantitative methods across urban and remote locations to answer complex questions about policy impact.

This project expects to provide evidence to inform future policy introduction and refinement. It aims to enhance Aboriginal research capacity for investigating alcohol policy.

Benefits should include world’s best evidence on the impact of supply restriction policies on treatment needs and the massive levels of harm seen in the Northern Territory.